Round Is a Tortilla: A Book of Shapes



Description

Children discover a world of shapes all around them. Many of the featured objects are Latino in origin, and all are universal in appeal. A short glossary explains the cultural significance of the objects featured in the book.

Publisher Marketing:
In this lively picture book, children discover shapes all around them!
A feast for the eyes and playful lesson in language for young readers, Round Is a Tortilla features rich, boisterous illustrations, fun-to-read rhyming text, and an informative glossary to explore words in Spanish throughout the book that may be new to some.
Round are tortillas
and tacos, too
Round is a bowl of abuela's stew.
Oval is my favorite locket,
A special pebble in my pocket.
I find ovals at the store
Huevos, olives, beans galore.
Shape by shape, this playful concept book will reinforce the shapes found in every child's day: rectangles are ice-cream carts and stone metates, while triangles are slices of watermelon and quesadillas. Many of the featured objects are Latino in origin, and all are universal in appeal.
Perfect for:

  • Parents, caregivers, preschool teachers, and librarians seeking kids' books that offer a fun way to explore shape concepts and multicultural reading
  • Anyone looking to expand the diversity of their reading and build a bilingual vocabulary
  • Birthday, holiday, baby shower, or family gift
  • Fans of Besos for Baby, Palatero Man, Fry Bread, laugh-and-learn books like If You Give a Mouse a Cookie and Eric Carle board books, and Sonia Sotomayor's children's book Just Ask!

Product Details

Awards:

ISBN13: 9781452145686

Publisher: Chronicle Books

Publication Date: Aug-2015

Pages: 40

Lexile Level: 0000

Ages: 02 - 05